News:

BEFORE POSTING read our Guidelines.

Main Menu

Walter Gaze Cooper

Started by Alan Howe, Tuesday 28 August 2012, 01:27

Previous topic - Next topic

Alan Howe

Posted elsewhere by enigma and moved here:

I would like to hear the music by the composer Walter Gaze Cooper who founded and conducted  the Nottingham Symphony Orchestra and on occasion conduct a work of his own occasionally.
I understand his music needs "sorting out" whatever that means (I am not a musician).I did hear a symphony of his over 40 years ago with him directing his orchestra.
At that time it sounded decent.I would like to hear it again.
I contacted by present conductor some time ago who said he would investigate,but nothing happened.
Any comments from anyone?

Alan Howe

Moderator's query:

Can Cooper's music be described as 'Romantic'?

Jimfin

I think it is definitely romantic, from the one piece I have heard (the Oboe Concertino on Cameo).

semloh

Walter Thomas "Gaze" Cooper has featured in previous postings, and I did download his My Grandchildren – Suite, Op.90 (?1965) in which he conducts the orchestra he founded, the NottinghamSO. I think we can say it's in the romantic style, despite the date, and although it's a low quality recording, I am happy to upload it if anyone really wants it.

There's an interesting biographical note about "GC", as he was apparently called, at: http://kith.org/jimmosk/barnett.html

Gareth Vaughan