News:

BEFORE POSTING read our Guidelines.

Main Menu

Friedrich Hegar's "Manasse"

Started by Reto Schärli, Tuesday 24 March 2020, 15:44

Previous topic - Next topic

Reto Schärli

I've recently been scrolling, reading and playing trough a lot of my fellow countrymens' music. There are so many great Swiss composer, who still are extremely neglected. Huber and Suter have been topics on this forum too, but Hegar's "Manasse" has only been mentionned once, in 2018 by hadrianus:

http://www.unsungcomposers.com/forum/index.php/topic,6494.msg72143.html#msg72143

I studied the piece a bit yesterday and was wondering if anyone else knows it? Any opinions on this?

I just found out that it was performed in Zurich in June 2018, but as far as I'm informed there are no recordings yet!
Which other pieces by Hegar are worth a listen? I know he wrote a lot of choral music, a Violin and a Cello Concerto...

Alan Howe

From Wikipedia:

Friedrich Hegar (11 October 1841 – 2 June 1927) was a Swiss composer, conductor, violinist, and founding conductor of the Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich from 1868 to 1906. Hegar was born in Basel and died in Zürich at age 85.

adriano

Hi Reto :-)
Unfortunately I could not attend that 2018 Zurich performance of "Manasse".
I studied this score long ago: It's a masterwork.
I struggled to get this piece recorded on Naxos already in the 1980s.
Swiss Cultural Muscl Institutions like Pro Helvetia and SUISA Foundation are only interested in promoting contemporary composers, mainly their favourites (who have already received enough money), no matter what kind of (mostly intellectual) bulls**t they write. They have no respect towards our great musical past, their reprentatives and responsibles are in greater part musical ignoramuses. And they do not support CD productions anymore.